Voting Begins for 2016 GLE Director Elections

July 8, 2016

Great Lakes Energy members in Districts 6, 8 and 9 should watch for mail-in ballots recently sent. GLE members in those districts will elect a candidate from within their district to serve on the electric cooperative’s board of directors.

In District 6 (Lake and Mason counties), incumbent Robert Kran of Free Soil faces challengers Ronald Bacon of Custer and William Gibbons of Baldwin for the one opening in the district.

In District 8 (Clare, Mecosta, Newaygo and Osceola counties), Howard Bowersox of Stanwood and Timothy Brechon of Paris are vying for the one open position in the district.

In District 9 (Allegan, Barry, Kent, Montcalm and Ottawa counties), Benjamin Ferrell of Pierson and John LaForge of Delton are seeking to fill the one open position in the district.

Great Lakes Energy members in the three districts received a mail-in ballot and candidate information with their July/August issue of Michigan Country Lines magazine.

Members are asked to cast their vote and mail the postage-paid ballot to the Petoskey accounting firm handling the vote count. Returned ballots must be received by accountants by no later than Aug. 18.

The three winners, one from each district, will be announced Aug. 24 at the cooperative’s annual business meeting in Boyne City. Results will also be posted online at

Remaining Great Lakes Energy members in districts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 7 will vote for director by mail-in ballot in either 2017 or 2018. Members vote once every three years to elect a director to a three-year term.

Share this post

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Grant Application

For security verification, please enter any random two digit number. For example: 32