Call Us Now: 1-888-GT-LAKES

Board of Directors

Great Lakes Energy is an electric cooperative, which is a democratic organization controlled by a board of directors. The board is made up of members who actively participate in setting policies and making decisions. The elected representatives are accountable to the membership.

Directors are elected to three-year terms by the membership according to district.  GLE members in three districts designated each year will elect one candidate from within their district to fill three positions on the board annually. Each member of Great Lakes Energy has one vote (one membership, one vote) in the election for their particular district.  The election results are announced each year at the annual business meeting held in August.

Board meetings are held 10 times a year. Minutes, beginning with the March 2017 board meeting, are available by email. Please send your request to Prior to March 2017, minutes are available for review in our office. Call 888-485-2537, ext. 1331. 

Learn more about the board election or request information about becoming a candidate.

Counties and directors by district are:

District 1: Emmet County

Paul Schemanski
Director: Paul Schemanski, Secretary

District 2: Charlevoix, Cheboygan counties

Mark Carson
Director: Mark Carson, Chairman

District 3: Antrim County

Ric Evans
Director: Ric Evans

District 4: Crawford, Montmorency, Oscoda, Otsego counties

Larry Monshor
Director: Larry Monshor, Treasurer

District 5: Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Manistee, Missaukee, Wexford

Dale Farrier
Director: Dale Farrier

District 6: Lake, Mason counties

Bob Kran
Director: Bob Kran

District 7: Muskegon, Oceana counties

Paul Byl
Director: Paul Byl

District 8: Clare, Mecosta, Newaygo, Osceola counties

Tim Brechon
Director: Tim Brechon

District 9: Allegan, Barry, Kent, Montcalm, Ottawa counties

John LaForge
Director: John LaForge, Vice-Chairman