Call Us Now: 1-888-GT-LAKES

Great Lakes Energy is governed by a board of directors elected from and by the membership. Please read below for more details or to request an information packet on how you can become a candidate for the next election.

Q: How are Board members chosen?
A: Board members are elected by a mail-in ballot vote of co-op members in the district in which they are seeking election.

Q: What is the time commitment?
A: Ten to 12 board meetings are held per year during daytime business hours in either Boyne City or Cadillac, MI. Board members may also be required to attend committee meetings and are encouraged to attend conferences both in-state and out of state. Board members are paid a per diem for meetings.

Q: When are Board members elected?
A: Board members are elected annually by ballots, mailed with the July/August issue of the cooperative’s magazine, Michigan Country Lines. The results are announced at the GLE annual business meeting in August. New board members are seated immediately following the annual business meeting and should plan to attend this meeting. The 2018 annual business meeting will be held Aug. 22.

Q: How can a co-op member become a candidate for election to the Board of Directors?
A: Full-time residential members are eligible. All candidates are nominated by petition in accordance with the co-op’s bylaws. To have a candidate nominated by petition, at least 50 GLE members residing in the district in which the candidate is running must provide the necessary information on the petition form and sign it. All petitions must be signed no more than ninety (90) days before they are submitted to GLE. Signatures that are obtained more than ninety (90) days before the petition is submitted will not be counted. The circulator of the petition must also provide the necessary information and sign each petition.  Petitions must be submitted to the Great Lakes Energy Cooperative Secretary no earlier than Thursday, May 24, 2018, and no later than Friday, June 8, 2018. Petitions submitted before May 24 or after June 8 will not be accepted. The candidate must also read and sign the Affidavit of Qualifications and submit it with the completed petition forms.

Candidates should refer to the cooperative bylaws for more information.

Q: What are the qualifications to be a director?
A: In accordance with the co-op’s bylaws, a member must meet these qualifications:

Each director shall, at all times, be a member in good standing of the Cooperative and maintain his/her primary residence in the Cooperative’s service area, shall have the legal capacity to enter into a contract, and may not be in any way employed by or financially interested in a competing enterprise or a business selling electric energy or supplies to the Cooperative, or of a business primarily engaged in selling electrical appliances, fixtures or supplies to the members of the Cooperative, nor shall they be an employee of the Cooperative. No person shall be eligible to become or remain a director while an employee of the Cooperative, or a wholly owned affiliate of the Cooperative. Except for those specific situations existing on the date these Bylaws are adopted, no person shall be eligible to be a candidate or shall hold office as a director who has a close relative who is an employee of the Cooperative or a wholly owned affiliate of the Cooperative. No Director shall be employed by the Cooperative, or a wholly owned affiliate of the Cooperative, within one (1) year of the expiration or termination of such Director’s term.

Q: What are the board districts and when is the next election for board seats?

A: District No. 1: Emmet County (2021)

District No. 2: Charlevoix and Cheboygan Counties (2021)

District No. 3: Antrim County (2020)

District No. 4: Otsego, Montmorency, Oscoda and Crawford Counties (2020)

District No. 5: Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Manistee, Missaukee and Wexford Counties (2020)

District No. 6: Mason and Lake Counties (2019)

District No. 7: Oceana and Muskegon Counties (2021)

District No. 8: Osceola, Clare, Newaygo and Mecosta Counties (2019)

District No. 9: Ottawa, Kent, Montcalm, Allegan and Barry Counties (2019)


To request more information about board candidacy in 2019 for districts 6, 8 or 9, please fill out the form below.

Board Candidate Information Request

Your full time residence must be in one of the districts below to seek nomination by petition in 2018.
reCAPTCHA is required.